Skip to content

Musical Resume

January 15, 2014

It occurred to me that after playing in bands for almost twenty years, it makes sense to post some of my exploits here, even if this is primarily an academic blog.

I started playing guitar in high school back in 1995 and recorded my first album with the band Space Agency the following year. I have yet to digitize this material, but it was noisy and Sonic Youth inspired.

In 1997 I fell in with a bunch of musicians from Berklee College of Music in Boston and formed a band that went through several iterations, most classically, Senior Fiend. We were noisy, jammy, experimental, and irreverent. It started as quartet and later became a trio. Here’s a live track from each alignment, which is raw but intense.

In 2000, I moved to Buffalo, NY and formed a political hip hop/R&B band called Metronoise. Many versions of songs exist, but my favorite stuff (albeit poorly recorded) is also live:

During this time, I also joined a glam rock band called Invisible Children fronted by the amazing gender transgressor, California Kim Preston. Here’s a live track from this group:

Metronoise and Invisible Children both went through drummers. I decided to become one to keep these bands going and to increase my repertoire as a musician. Almost immediately I joined new bands as a drummer. The first was a political post-hardcore group called L’Dorado. Here’s a recording of us playing on the radio in the early 2000s.

I also joined the popular Communist garage punk band named Mockba, who already was on an Italian punk label. After their hit Cheap Vodka, I played drums on their third album, Streets of LA. We wore matching jumpsuits.

At the same time, I also joined a shoe gaze band briefly called Little Dipper. Here’s a radio performance from this band:

Simultaneously, I also formed one of the most favorite bands I’ve ever been in – an instrumental surf rock band with a thrashy, klezmer feel called Dimetrodon. Packing rooms with dancers, this band is still talked about in Buffalo, NY even though we have been disbanded since 2007 due to career-related moves. We recorded two albums, but for some reason, I cannot locate tracks from the first self-titled album. Here are three tracks from the second album, You Thought We Were Extinct:

also a live show on archive.org:
https://archive.org/details/Dimetrodon

and video from an early lineup of the band:
https://plus.google.com/112192757994231054030/videos

Around the time Dimetrodon disbanded, the rhythm section of Dimetrodon joined Vic Lazar of L’dorado to form another political, Fugazi-inspired post-hardcore group called Patrons of Sweet. We were heavy.

Then I moved to Boston for graduate school at Boston College toward the end of the first decade of the 2000s. I joined an already up and coming group, Guillermo Sexo. We won second place for the Boston Phoenix music video awards in 2010.

Here is some live footage from O’Brien’s and the Middle East club in Boston:

We then recorded an album, Secret Wild, in 2011 with Justin Pizzoferrato, who has recorded albums with Dinosaur Jr. and Thurston Moore. You can check it out on bandcamp, (and purchase vinyl) here:

http://guillermosexo.bandcamp.com/album/secret-wild

After that I moved to Baltimore. PhD work was intense and my musical career slowed down until recently. I am currently recording an album with Ryan Harvey and Tom Morello from Rage Against the Machine, so stay tuned!

Enjoy the tracks.

Jay

From → All Posts

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

